What New Year’s Resolutions?

Every year, like practically everyone else on the planet, I come up with a few resolutions for the new year–things I want to do more consistently, changes I want to make. And every year, said resolutions fall by the wayside, usually even before January has ended. It doesn’t matter that as I’ve grown older and wiser, my resolutions have become more realistic: Instead of, say, promising myself that I’ll work out every day, I pledge to work out three times a week. Instead of spending fifteen minutes a day going through clutter, I’ll give it five. I start out with good intentions….What’s that, you mumble? Something about the road to hell?

This year, I decided on no resolutions. And it’s a good thing I did, too, because as December 31 progressed, the tickle in my throat I had when I woke up gradually manifested itself as a cold. I didn’t particularly mind that I was ending the year with a cold, so much as I did realizing that I’d be starting off the new year with one–because, really, who ever gets a cold for just twenty-four hours? So instead of spending yesterday rigorously cleaning or working out, or hitting some open houses, I made like a couch potato and watched NFL football (which, to tell the truth, was no different than any other Sunday during the football season). But had I planned on starting to do any sort of resolution on January 1, I’d already have failed.

I do, in fact, want to work out a few times a week, and I’d like to tame the paper tiger running rampant through my house. (I’d like to tame the teenagers running rampant through my house, too, but that’s another blog entry altogether.) I’m just not going to make myself crazy. (Said teenagers would argue that I already am, but if that’s the case, they have only themselves to blame.) I’m not going to set up a schedule. Rather, I’m going to remind myself that if I want to do these things, I’ll simply have to make them a priority. I’ll have to stop saying I want to do these things and actually do them. And I will. Tomorrow.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kelworthfiles
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 01:33:20

    Good luck! I’m starting the calendar reward system for keeping track of my progress – writing a letter on the calendar for each day that I walk for 30 minutes, or write, or whatever!

    Reply

  2. brynafischer
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 09:48:26

    Good luck to you, too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

